Ella’s Ice-Cream Summer by Sue Watson #BlogTour #Review

Posted May 13, 2017 by thischickreads in review / 0 Comments

 

 

Hey guys, today I have a DELICIOUS review for you 🙂 I’m thrilled to be part of Sue Watson’s blog tour for her latest book, ELLA’S ICE-CREAM SUMMER which is a brilliant start to a new series. I absolutely enjoyed it and let me tell you, this book was a serious threat to my diet. The ice cream flavours and all those descriptions were just soooo tempting. So, while I absolutely recommend this book, consider yourselves warned. Maybe read it when you’re not dieting? ha ha As always, massive thanks to lovely Sue and Kim from bookouture for the review copy and the chance to be part of this delish blog tour. Enjoy and see you tomorrow (yes, a new blog tour…busy busy Chick 🙂 )

 

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Ella’s Ice-Cream Summer by Sue Watson #BlogTour #ReviewElla's Ice-Cream Summer by Sue Watson
Series: The Ice-Cream Cafe #1
Also in this series: Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice-Cream
Published by Bookouture
Published on 11.5.2017
Genres: chick lit
Pages: 302
Format: e-book
Source: NetGalley
Buy on amazon.co.uk or Buy on amazon.com
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Ella’s life just hit rock-bottom, but can a summer by the sea mend her broken heart? When life gives you lemons… make ice-cream!

Life hasn’t always been easy for single mum Ella, but she has just hit an all-time low; she’s jobless, loveless, very nearly homeless and, to make matters worse, now the owner of a pocket-sized pooch with a better wardrobe than her.

Packing her bags (and a bigger one for the dog), Ella sets off for the seaside town of Appledore in Devon to re-live the magical summers of her youth and claim her portion of the family ice-cream business: a clapped-out ice-cream van and a complicated mess of secrets.

There she meets gorgeous and free-spirited solicitor, Ben, who sees things differently: with a little bit of TLC he has a plan to get the van – and Ella – back up and running in no time.

Ella’s Ice-Cream Summer is a heart-warming and hilarious romance that will scoop you off your feet and prove it’s never too late for a fresh start. The ideal holiday read for fans of Lucy Diamond, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson.

Ella’s Ice Cream-Summer is a delicious book and brilliant start to a new series by Sue Watson. While in many ways it’s everything I expected from Sue, she still manages to surprise me. When I say this I firstly mean the amazing, fresh and effortless humor. Simply said, Sue KNOWS how to make you laugh. It’s like it’s in her DNA and is one of the main reasons why I’m such a huge fan of her writing.

If you’ve read Sue Watson’s book before you’d also know she does love writing about food and baking. So, it was no surprise she decided to write a whole series dedicated to an Ice Cream Cafe. And while there’s so many amazing descriptions of ice cream flavours that will make your mouth water, this book is more than that.

The story follows Ella who’s recently been laid off, her two kids are already grown up and leaving the nest to explore these exotic places and learn about the world by themselves. Even though her mum came to stay with them for short time, she seems well settled with Ella and there’s no indication she’s planning on leaving. Ella feels tired, alone but still she’s doing her best to keep a smile on her face and please everyone. She’s a born pleaser, always putting herself and her needs last. One day she finds out her aunt, Sophia, the owner of a cafe left her an ice cream van and that’s when Ella’s world changes in many ways.

The thing is, aunt Sophia and her mum fell apart long time ago and seems her mum never really missed her sister. She does remember a time when she enjoyed visiting Appledore and her aunt, especially cause she loved her cousin, Gina. But then Gina left to marry some hot shot and even though they tried to keep in touch, the letters came less and less often…till they finally stopped. it’s funny how a family can fall apart. And sometimes for no reason. But is there a reason why her mum and Sophia decided to stop being in each others’ lives?

As you see, there’s a bit of a mystery element and some family drama/secrets that will be revealed to Ella when she leaves for Appledore and starts a new life there. While I could predict where the story is going, I really didn’t mind as I so enjoyed Ella’s voice and humor. Her down to earth character and positive outlook on life is what made this book so enjoyable for me.

While there’s also dashy Ben and a bit of a romance, I didn’t feel like that is the most important part of Ella’s story. I do wish though I saw more of it, but who knows. We might see more in the next installments.

The best thing about this book is that strong feel good factor that oozes through the pages. I swear, I had a big smile on my face all while reading it and there were some absolutely hilarious situations and laugh out moments. Classic Sue Watson if you ask me. Don’t you just love picking up a book knowing you’re gonna adore it? That’s how I always feel when I pick up Sue Watson’s book.

Ella’s Ice-Cream Summer is a warm and delicious read perfect for a sunny day at the beach! If you’re looking for an uber entertaining read you’ll devour in a day, this is the book for you. It might make you crave ice-cream though, so just consider yourselves warned. I’m already excited about #2. Woop, bring it on!!

 

About Sue Watson

Sue Watson was a TV Producer with the BBC who combined motherhood and family life with a busy career. However, one day it dawned on Sue that Cosmo magazine may have been telling porkies about 'having it all,' and her life had become a slightly crazed juggling act.

So after much soul searching (and comfort eating) Sue abandoned her TV career, bought a pink laptop and wrote 'Fat Girls and Fairy Cakes.' It was then Sue realised she couldn't stop writing and produced 'Younger, Thinner, Blonder' 'Love, Lies and Lemon Cake' and 'Snow Angels, Secrets and Christmas Cake,' 'Summer Flings and Dancing Dreams,' and 'Bella's Christmas Bake Off.'

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire where she bakes (and eats) lots of cake. She spends much of her time making big decisions about whether to have Caramel Chew Chew or Peanut Butter ice cream (or both?) while watching 'The Biggest Loser USA,' and procrastinating over her latest novel.


Leave a Reply