Wildflower Bay by Rachael Lucas Blog Tour

Posted August 11, 2016 by thischickreads in review / 0 Comments

 

 

Today I’m taking part in a brilliant blog tour. It’s for Rachael Lucas’ new novel, WILDFLOWER BAY which is OUT TODAY! YAY! Massive happy publication day to lovely Rachael and hope her book will fly high up the amazon chart! Now I leave you with a review of WILDFLOWER BAY and definitely recommend you head to amazon to download yourself a copy. Enjoy!

 

 

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Wildflower Bay by Rachael Lucas Blog TourWildflower Bay by Rachael Lucas
Published by Pan Macmillan
Published on 11.8.2016
Genres: chick lit
Pages: 352
Format: paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on amazon.co.uk or Buy on amazon.com
Goodreads
four-stars

Wildflower Bay is a stunning, romantic summer read by Rachael Lucas.

This little island has some big secrets...

Isla's got her dream job as head stylist at the most exclusive salon in Edinburgh. The fact that she's been so single-minded in her career that she's forgotten to have a life has completely passed her by - until disaster strikes.

Out of options, she heads to the remote island of Auchenmor to help out her aunt who is in desperate need of an extra pair of scissors at her salon.

A native to the island, Finn is thirty-five and reality has just hit him hard. His best friends are about to have a baby and everything is changing. When into his life walks Isla .

 

 

Wildflower Bay is the latest novel by Rachael Lucas and was originally published as a three part serialisation. I’ll be honest, I’m not the biggest fan of serialisations or short stories, however many authors are doing it these days (Cathy Bramley and Harriet Evans just a few of them I’ve read). From the moment I read the blurb I knew I’m going to enjoy this story, it promised a lot of fun and even some laughs. While I certainly wasn’t disappointed it turned out to be slightly different to what I expected (which is not a bad thing, of course).

Wildflower Bay follows Isla as she moves from Edinburgh to the small island Auchenmor, to help out her aunt with her hair salon. Though she’s always dreamed of continuing school and becoming a teacher, Isla ends up being a hair stylist. She’s highly organised, always ready to learn and soon becomes one of the best hair stylist in Edinburgh. But after a small drama which involves some back stabbing from a colleague, Isla is left jobless..with just few months till her High School Reunion. This Reunion is such a huge deal for Isla as she wasn’t one of the ‘cool’ kids and was quite often mocked by other kids. This is her chance to make everyone sorry for what they did to her, however losing her job was definitely not on her agenda. She leaves for Auchenmor to help out her aunt and work in her salon. Challenging times are certainly ahead, but is Isla ready to grasp the change?

While in the first part of the book we get to now Isla in her posh Edinburgh job, in the second and third we follow her adventures in Auchenmor. I absolutely loved the first part, while in 2nd and 3rd things got a bit slower. Isla is one of these super motivated people, hardworking, ready to learn, respectful towards authorities. She’s a real workaholic and proud of it. I loved how gentle and respectful she is to her father, the man who brought her up by himself. I was very surprised by all the changes she makes in her aunt’s salon in Auchenmor and even had few laughs at her colleagues (which are nothing like the stylists she’s worked with in Edinburgh).

While there’s a bit of romance and things were developing naturally and slowly, I have to admit I expected more of it. But what truly impressed me is Ruth, Finn’s ‘Ma’ who’s the most calm and wise human being I’ve ever read about. Ruth brought up Finn by herself and there’s a bit of a mystery around this family. It’s like two stories in one, which is not something I expected. But nonetheless it was a wonderful surprise and a true joy reading about Ruth, as she’s definitely one of these characters that will stay with you long after you close the pages.

The only reason why I’m giving it 4 instead of the max 5* is the Reunion, which I expected to play a bigger part in this book (just like the blurb and intro suggested). There aren’t many pages about this event, which was supposed to be one of the most important days in Isla’s life and all she thought and talked about for the last couple of months. Things were slightly rushed and in my opinion they shouldn’t have been.

Overall, Wildflower Bay is a light hearted, easy summer read perfect for this time of year. Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Miranda Dickinson.

 

 

About Rachael Lucas

Rachael Lucas lives and works in a Victorian house by the seaside in the North West of England with her partner - also a writer - and her four children.

Her debut novel SEALED WITH A KISS was downloaded over 130,000 times on Kindle and was a bestseller. Since then she has written COMING UP ROSES and WILDFLOWER BAY as well as a young adult novel which will be published in 2017. She is working on her fifth novel.


Leave a Reply