A Wedding in Italy by Tilly Tennant #Blogtour #Review

Posted April 17, 2017 by thischickreads in review / 0 Comments

 

 

Hey guys, hope you had wonderful Easter holidays! Today I have the pleasure to take part in Tilly Tennant’s blog tour for her latest, A Wedding in Italy. As always, massive thanks to Kim and Team Bookouture for the chance to be part of the blog tour and for my review copy. See ya later, alligators!

 

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Wedding in Italy by Tilly Tennant #Blogtour #ReviewA Wedding in Italy by Tilly Tennant
Series: From Italy with Love #2
Published by Bookouture
Published on 14.4.2017
Genres: chick lit
Pages: 330
Format: e-book
Source: NetGalley
Buy on amazon.co.uk or Buy on amazon.com
Goodreads
three-stars

Sun, spaghetti and sparkling prosecco. When it comes to finding love, there’s no place like Rome…

Kate is living the dream with her gorgeous boyfriend Alessandro in his native city, but the reality is sometimes a little less romantic than she’d hoped. Every day in her new home is a fight against leaking pipes, her cantankerous landlord and her less-than-perfect grasp of the Italian lingo.

All around her there is talk of weddings, but when a secret from her past is thrust out into the open, Kate must fight to prove to Alessandro’s Mamma – and the rest of his formidable family – that she truly is Italian marriage material.

With the women in Alessandro’s life on a mission to break them apart, the cracks begin to show and Kate starts to question if Alessandro really is the man of her dreams. Can love and the city of romance conquer all, or is that just a fairy-tale?

Let Rome steal your heart this summer in this gorgeously romantic escapist read. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas and Abby Clements.

 

It’s been a while since I’ve read a book by Tilly Tennant and I was really excited about A Wedding in Italy. I just adore the cover and the blurb made it sound like totally my thing. However, while I did enjoy it, I have to say I am slightly disappointed. It could be the fact I had expectations as I know Tilly is an amazing author, or the fact most of my friends loved it and I assumed I will too.

A Wedding in Italy is the second one in a series, and while I haven’t read the first part, I can say this one can definitely be read as a stand alone. While there are many characters, I had no trouble in remembering their names or their role. However I did read some reviews on Rome is Where the Heart Is (the first part in the series) to get a better feel of the MC, Kate and her history with Alessandro. While apparently the first part is more focused on their romance, in the second part we meet Alessandro’s family and see Kate trying to fit in.

The family dynamics is what makes this book enjoyable and so easy to ready. Alessandro has three sisters and while Kate has established a good relationship with Lucetta and Abelie, Maria, Alessandro’s oldest sister is really not fond of the English girl. The Italian Mum is also hard to impress, though she’s kind and nice to Kate, it’s no secret she’d like a good Italian wife for her only son. Rome is a wonderful place, but Kate is no tourist and she’s gonna try hard to win her man. One of the reasons Maria dislikes her so much is the fact that Maria has plans of her own for her brother. There’s nothing she’d like more than to see Alessandro get together with her friend. Orazia who’d make a perfect wife for him. She could even understand his working hours better, since she’s a police officer herself.

The book opens with Lucetta getting married which is stressful for all the family members, including Kate, who will be meeting the whole family (400 wedding guests is not a small thing). All Kate wants is to be good for Alessandro and be accepted by his family. Kate is a lovable girl, she’s trying hard to make ends meet and dreams of starting up her sewing business. She’s very good at making dresses, though she’s not that good when it comes to finances.

While I absolutely enjoyed reading about the Italian culture, their customs and the family bond between the members, I have to say I found the book a bit slow. It takes good 30% for things to start happening and it was then that I started enjoying the book. There’s too much drama by the end, which I liked to certain extent however it was pretty much predictable.

What I liked about this book the most was the feel good factor, will the girl get her boy and show the world how great she is? That was what kept me reading. I wasn’t the biggest fan of Kate however I liked her and appreciated her efforts to fit in though I think sometimes she tried too hard. I wish she was more ballsy and voiced her opinion more freely. I also wish there was more romance, but I guess I’ll need to go back and read #1 in the series for that.

Overall, A Wedding in Italy is a cute, light, easy book perfect for a lazy weekend. While it isn’t the most memorable book I’ve read this year, it certainly made me smile and feel good while reading it. I’d definitely read more from this author as I felt through the pages she’s got something, that X factor needed in chick lit. Tilly knows how to create characters that will make you smile and feel entertained.

 

About Tilly Tennant

From a young age, Tilly Tennant was convinced that she was destined for the stage. Once she realised she wasn’t actually very good at anything that would put her on the stage, she started to write stories instead. There were lots of terrible ones, like The Pet Rescue Gang (aged eight), which definitely should not see the light of day ever again. Thankfully, her debut novel, Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was not one of those, and since it hit the Amazon best seller lists she hasn’t looked back. Born in Dorset, she currently lives in Staffordshire with her husband, two daughters, three guitars, four ukuleles, two violins and a kazoo.


Leave a Reply