The Serial Killer’s Daughter By Lesley Walsh #BlogTour #Review

Posted June 19, 2017 by thischickreads in review / 2 Comments

 

 

Hi amigos, today I’m taking part in another blog tour, this time for Lesley Walsh’s THE SERIAL KILLER’S DAUGHTER. The book’s just been published and it’s a real bargain, 99p/99c for a download. Lesley is sadly no longer with us (she passed away in April this year) but I’m sure she’s up in heaven smiling as she sees readers all around the world enjoying her two books. So, if my review gets you intrigued enough I definitely recommend heading to amazon to download a copy. BUT a tiny warning (as you’ll also see in my review), it’s rather dark and disturbing, but if you’re a fan of these types of reads, you’ve found the right book for you! Enjoy and see you see 🙂

 

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Serial Killer’s Daughter By Lesley Walsh #BlogTour #ReviewThe Serial Killer's Daughter Published by Bookouture
Published on 14.6.2017
Genres: thriller
Pages: 343
Format: e-book
Source: NetGalley
Buy on amazon.co.uk or Buy on amazon.com
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him.

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death... So why did he have a picture of her?

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

 

‘The Serial Killer’s Daughter’ is Lesley Welsh’s second book yet the first one I’ve read by her. It was caught on my radar when the publisher, Bookouture revealed the cover which I find absolutely fascinating. We all know covers can ‘speak’ and tell a lot about the book’s story though sometimes publishers pick art designs which have no connection at all to what’s inside. In the case of this book, I have to say that Bookouture did a brilliant job as not only is the cover amazing, but also it fits the story perfectly too. Sadly, Lesley is no longer with us and passed away in April this year so she’s not able to see her ‘baby’ published and read all her readers’ thoughts on the book.

Another thing that made me want to read this book is the blurb, which promised a lot. Now that I’ve read it, while I can’t say I’m disappointed I certainly expected a faster story with more twists and turns. However, I’m really glad I’ve read it and I would definitely check out Lesley’s first book too, ‘Truth Lies Buried’.

Suzanne’s lived with her mother and doesn’t even have any recollection of her father who left them when she was very young. However, when Rose Anderson, who claims to be her father’s partner till his last days, approaches her, Suzanne’s life starts to dramatically change. Change for the worst, I need to add. Rose has some notes and pictures which she wants for Suzanne to have as they are the only thing now left of her deceased father. Suzanne’s never really had any relationship with her father, however what she’s about to discover will make her hate and despise him even more. When among the other pictures she finds one of her friend who went missing years ago, she starts suspecting her father was involved in something horrific.

As you see, the plot really promises a lot of suspense, horror and shocking revelations. While the story definitely kept me turning the pages I have to admit it took me a lot of time to really get into the story. The pace is too slow for my liking and I was desperately waiting for something to happen. It really is a slow burner (at least in my opinion) and this did annoy me to a certain degree.

However, the good thing is that Lesley did an amazing job in portraying a bad guy you won’t help but hate. There are many graphic scenes and loads of violence, so if you’re not into this or will find it too disturbing, consider yourselves warned.

It took me some time to get to like Suzanne too, however I did feel the hell she was going through and can only imagine how hard it is for someone to find out about so many family secrets.

Overall, this was an interesting thriller and I would definitely like to check out Lesley’s first book as it’s obvious she knew how to write a good thriller. If you’re a fan of serial killer’s stories, dark and disturbing reads this is definitely one to check out.

 

About Lesley Welsh

Lesley Welsh sadly passed away in April this year. Lesley was born in Strawberry Field children’s home and raised on a notorious council estate in Liverpool. Later she moved to London where she studied English and Drama and worked as a freelance writer specialising in alternative lifestyles. Her articles appeared in Cosmopolitan, Marie Claire, Red, Bite, Time Out and many others before she established Moondance Media, a magazine publishing company. Her dark and compelling short story Mrs Webster’s Obsession was turned into a film. Lesley moved to Spain and sadly passed away in April.


2 responses to “The Serial Killer’s Daughter By Lesley Walsh #BlogTour #Review

    • thischickreads

      Yes, it felt like dragging sometimes..but still, I’m glad I read it. Maybe I’m just reading too many thrillers lately and I’m expecting more in terms of pace..anyway, it’s not a bad book, just not as good as some other books I’ve read lately. Thanks for dropping by, lovely xx

Leave a Reply