Book Review: Lily Does L.A. (Girls On Tour BOOK 2) by Nicola Doherty

Posted October 14, 2014 by thischickreads in review / 1 Comment

cover

The second instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk’s I Heart… novels.

Lily is an actress. At least, that’s what she tells people, even though she’s currently working in a call centre and her last big part was an ad for Sofa Warehouse. So when she’s invited to her cousin Alice’s wedding in LA, it’s a dream come true. Alice’s fiancé Sam is actually a Hollywood agent; how can Lily fail to get talent-spotted? There’s only one problem; not only is Lily banned from mentioning acting, parts or producers to Sam, she’s expected to spend the entire week doing wedding-related prep (read: chores) with Sam’s boring groomsman Jesse. But Lily firmly believes that rules were made to be broken …

Girls on Tour is an irresistible series of interlinked stories about four friends, ordinary girls who have extraordinary fun in faraway places. Expect the unexpected, the utterly hilarious and unforgettable, on this rollercoaster ride of love, laughs, surprises and sparks. You have a VIP pass to join each girl’s adventure, so pack your bags and buckle your seatbelts, because just about anything is possible…

*Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

Lily Does L.A. is the second in a five part series of novellas, but it actually the first one I read. It’s not because I mixed up the order, but funnily, I was first approved for this, then for the first part (Poppy Does Paris) on NetGalley. Anyway, there’s absolutely no problem even you mix the order of these novellas, because they can be read and enjoyed as stand alone short stories too.

Lilly is a rather sassy character, hear dream is to become an actress, and when her cousin announces she’s marrying a Hollywood agent, she sees this as a fantastic opportunity to go to L.A. and talk him into getting a role. But, she’s forbidden to do such a thing, not when Alice needs help with the wedding preparations. Also, seems Lily is stuck with Jesse, Sam’s boring groomsman.

Just like the previous part in the series, Lily does L.A. was fast paced, adorable little read, one I read with great enjoyment over just bit then half an hour. It’s got everything a great chick lit novella is supposed to have, interesting and oh so not perfect heroine with big dreams, giggly moments as well as some serious ones. Nicola is a great writer, bringing her characters to life, even if these stories are rather short. You’re literally sucked right into her characters’ life, living and breathing through them. Which is rather hard to do in so little pages. I honestly wish both Lily Does L.A. and Poppy Does Paris were longer, because I could have more time to hang out with Lily and Poppy. But still, there was a lot of meat to these stories and I find them highly entertaining.

I’m already looking forward to the other parts in this series, can’t wait to see what Nicola has got in store for us next. Short, easy to read, fun read that will leave you craving for some more Hollywood.

 

My rating: 8/10

Ananda1


One response to “Book Review: Lily Does L.A. (Girls On Tour BOOK 2) by Nicola Doherty

Leave a Reply