The Girls in the Water by Victoria Jenkins #BlogTour #Review

Posted August 7, 2017 by thischickreads in review / 0 Comments

 

 

Hey dear readers, today I’m taking part in another blog tour for one of my fave publisher, Bookouture. This time it’s for Victoria Jenkins’ fab debut, THE GIRLS IN THE WATER. Victoria is a super talented author and I definitely recommend you to add this book to your huge TBR piles. And it’s currently such a bargain!! 99p/99c (for your kindle) so you got no excuse not to read it! 🙂 Many thanks to lovely Kim and Noelle and the team at Bookouture for my galley and the chance to be part of the blog tour. Cheerio, sweethearts!

 

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Girls in the Water by Victoria Jenkins #BlogTour #ReviewThe Girls in the Water by Victoria Jenkins
Series: Detectives King and Lane #1
Published by Bookouture
Published on 3.8.2017
Pages: 354
Format: e-book
Source: NetGalley
Buy on amazon.co.uk or Buy on amazon.com
Goodreads
four-stars

Description:

When the body of Lola Evans is found in a local park on a cold winter’s morning, Detective Alex King and her new recruit Chloe Lane are called in to lead the hunt for the killer.

Days later, a second girl goes missing. It seems the two shared a troubled history, and were members of the same support group. Who is the monster preying on these vulnerable girls?

As the detectives start to piece together the clues, Chloe realises that she too is in danger – as she uncovers secrets about her own brother’s death which someone will kill to keep hidden.

Alex and Chloe are soon fighting for their lives, and in a race against time to reach the next victim before it’s too late…

Chilling and totally compelling with an utterly surprising twist, The Girls in the Water is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Sarah Hilary, and Patricia Gibney.

 

 

The Girls in the Water is Victoria Jenkins’ debut and it’s a really solid one. I had no expectations for this book, however I must admit I found the fantastic blurb and the cover very promising and I was eager to make a start with the story. It took me just a chapter or two get really immersed in the book and forget everything about the chores I had for that day. I know it sounds cliche, but really…once I started it I honestly couldn’t put it down.

First off, I absolutely love a good police procedural, especially if it features female detectives (blame Angela Marsons and her DI Kim Stone for that). In this book (which is also the first in a brand new crime/thriller series) we have two female detectives, Alex King and Chloe Lane who work side by side in solving crimes. The two women are not alike however they do make an interesting team. Alex King is divorced, slightly bitter lady (but it appears she has a good reason for that) and Chloe is in her 20ties, very ambitious (as described by Alex), however has a bit of a dark past. The book is set in Wales, which I found really interesting as haven’t read many crime books set in Wales, however is not that strong on location. But that’s totally OK, as the story is much more than that.

One day a female body is found on the river bank and Detectives King and Lane are called at the scene. The young woman’s body is in a really bad condition suggesting she’s been dead for some time. There are many bruises on the body and her nails have been torn off. What kind of a monster is behind this horrific crime? And who is the dead girl and what has she done to deserve such a fate? Shortly after the first body is found, another girl goes missing. King and Lane are trying to find a connection between the two girls and can only hope they’ll be able to find the girl before the monster kills her. It takes a good 40% of the book till we find out how these two young women are connected and that missing link which gives the police force the first piece of the puzzle and hope they’ll solve the crimes.

While we follow the stories of the victims, how they’ve come in contact with the killer and what brought them the horrible ending, we also follow Detective Lane’s story of her brother that committed suicide about 8 years ago. At the same time when the girls go missing Chloe starts receiving e-mails and she feels they are somehow connected to her brother’s suicide and an old case of a 16 year old girl who strangled herself. There’s a bit of this and that, all interestingly mixed, the old investigation and the new crimes and it makes the book really pacey.

While I absolutely adored the first half of the book and was absolutely blown away with the way the author managed to pull me in into the story from the first chapter, I felt things kind of slowed down in the second part of the book. However, that’s not the only reason for deducing one star from the max five. The thing that made me decide on the rating is the main characters. I have to say I didn’t find Alex and Chloe that memorable or strong. It’s like I didn’t get to know them that well, like the story was more important than their personality and their lives before the crimes. I don’t know, they somehow felt… distant to me and I couldn’t connect to either of them.

However, this is a great debut and a very promising start to a new series. It’s evident Victoria is a talented writer who can create a great crime scene and keep things intense. I’m most definitely following the story and will be on the watch out for Book 2 in the series. If you’re a fan of a good police procedural or looking for a new series to follow devotedly, this is definitely the book for you.

 

About Victoria Jenkins

Victoria Jenkins lives with her husband in South Wales, where she writes crime fiction and teaches English. The Girls in the Water is her debut novel, the first featuring Detective Inspector Alex King and Detective Constable Chloe Lane. The second book in the series will be published in late 2017.


Leave a Reply