Four Weddings and a Fiasco Blog Tour: Review + Short Story by Catherine Ferguson

Posted June 17, 2016 by thischickreads in review / 0 Comments

 

 

Hi everyone, today I’m taking part in a very special blog tour. It’s for Catherine Ferguson’s FOUR WEDDINGS AND A FIASCO which was published yesterday. This is Catherine’s fourth book, but unlike her previous ones which were published only in e-format, this one is available as paperback too. And what a gorgeous paperback it is! I’ve been one of the lucky few to get a PB for review, and let me tell you it’s so gorgeous and eye catchy, looks amazing on my bookshelf. Massive thanks to Catherine and lovely Helena from AvonUK for the chance to be part of the blog tour. Without further ado, here’s my review of this brilliant book and also a snippet (part 2) of Catherine’s exclusive short story. Follow the rest of the tour hosts to read more of the story. Happy Friday, all!

 

 

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Four Weddings and a Fiasco Blog Tour: Review + Short Story by Catherine FergusonFour Weddings and a Fiasco by Catherine Ferguson
Published by Avon
Published on 16.6.2016
Genres: chick lit
Pages: 400
Format: paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on amazon.co.uk or Buy on amazon.com
Goodreads
five-stars

The ebook bestseller is back with her next riotously funny read! Get your hands on the ONLY book you need this summer.

Katy Peacock lives a life as colourful as her name.

As a wedding photographer, she spends her days making other people smile as she captures all sorts of fun and capers at celebrations that range from the wacky to the wild.

But her own life isn’t looking quite so rosy. Her mum is acting out of character, her menacing ex is back on the scene, and she is torn between two gorgeous men. And that’s before we even get started on the trouble her sister is causing . . .

As Katy weathers the ups and downs of the season, she revisits problems from the past, discovers new friendships and finds that four weddings and a fiasco have the power to change her world beyond measure.

A funny, feel-good read, perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan.

 

 

‘Four Weddings and a Fiasco’ is Catherine Ferguson’s fourth novel and the first one that’s been released as a paperback. My initial thoughts when I saw the cover was that this is going to be one of my fave spring/summer reads. Yes, I do judge books on covers and no matter what anyone else says, so far my intuition has never been wrong. This indeed was a brilliant, light hearted, uber fun book perfect for this time of year.

Most people are crazy about weddings, there’s something truly magical on the day two people decide to share good/bad, in sickness/health and all that. Everyone (not just the bride and the groom) try to look as nice as they can, and create the most memorable day for the newly weds. Katy is a wedding photographer and loves her work. Even though it’s full of stress and sometimes even means contact with bridezillas, she truly enjoys her calling and tries to be the best she can in her work. Even if it means climbing the trees in the yard to get a better shot of the wedding couple. She originally starts her business with her sister, Sienna, also a photographer however they fall apart for a reason, and Katy is left all by herself to run the business and the many debts. She pushes herself, always busy and hardly time for any fun, just to clear out the debts and pay the mortgage of her house. At the beginning we don’t exactly know the real reason why the two sisters fell apart. I was predicting, however Ms Ferguson proved me wrong.

We get to attend these weddings where everything can go wrong. Katy is not only the official photographer, but also everything that’s needed on that special day. She’s there to console the family/bride/groom, give handkerchiefs if anything goes wrong, pick up the bride’s lipstick shade, you name it she’s on it. She really cares about the couple having the best and most memorable wedding and does everything in her power to be professional yet caring at the same time.

I absolutely enjoyed every single page of this book. From the opening when we get to meet the two sisters, who despite the 9 years difference have this special bond, I was hooked and couldn’t put the book down. The only thing I’m sorry about is that I didn’t save this book for my summer holidays, as I would love to read it at the beach with a cocktail in hand. Despite having her previous books on my kindle, this is actually the first book by Ms Ferguson I’ve read and it’s a real gem. I’m so happy I’ve got the chance the read it (actually devour it in a day), and I’m already looking forward to her next. In the mean time, I’ll make sure I catch up on her previous books as it’s obvious Ms Ferguson knows how to create super fun stories and absolutely lovable characters you can’t help but fall in love with. Everything about this book is simply dreamy, from the theme and characters to the very ending which left me with a huge smile on my face. Summer hasn’t officially started yet, but it would be totally OK if I say I’ve found my summer hit for 2016. Wholeheartedly recommended for everyone who’s off for holidays and looking for a great, chill out beach read. Trust me, you definitely want this in you bag.

 

 

ONE BRIDE AND A BOMBSHELL

 

PART 2

People often remarked on how colourful my name sounded. Katy Peacock. And I reckoned the peacock was a giftas far as eye-catching logos were concerned.

I inherited the entrepreneurial gene from my dad.

When I was young, Dad was employed as an accountant nearby. But he was forever dreaming up ideas for unusual businesses.

Most of them remained just that.

Ideas.

Then finally, when I was about twelve and my sister, Sienna, was just a tiny tot, he took the plunge, left his steady job and set up his first bakery/sandwich shop. It did well and within a few years, Dad had established two more outlets in nearby towns.

Mum said it drove her mad, the amount of time and effort he poured into his enterprise. She used to shake her head and declare she was a bacon bap widow. But it was always said with a smile and I knew that deep down, she was incredibly proud of him.

As for me, I could totally understand Dad’s passion and dedication. I thought it must be thrilling to set up a business from scratch and watch it grow and flourish, all your hard work and marketing ideas paying off and reaping rewards.

I wasn’t naïve enough to think it would be easy. On the contrary, I’d witnessed first-hand Dad’s hopes and disappointments before he finally found something that worked. I knew it would be both exciting and scary to make that initial leap into the unknown – not knowing if I’d make a success of it – especially since I’d grown used to my regular salary at the advertising agency.

I asked Dad for more information about the advert, but he said there was no name, just a number to call.

‘Oh God, I bet it’s that crabby old witch, Camilla Radcliffe,’ groaned my baby sister, Sienna, when I told her about it on the phone. (I say ‘baby’ but Sienna is actually twenty and quite old enough to be studying photography at the same college I attended, many moons ago, although she still lives with Mum and Dad in Willows Edge.)

‘Who’s Camilla Radcliffe?’ I asked.

‘Local wedding photographer. And I happen to know she just sacked her latest assistant for taking better pictures than her.’

I laughed. ‘Presumably she didn’t give that as the reason.’

‘Well, no. But that’s what everyone thinks.’

‘Doesn’t matter,’ I said firmly. ‘I’ll only be doing it for six months or so to gain experience.’

I refused to be put off – even if my potential new employer did turn out to be a ‘crabby old witch’. Difficult she might be. But I could definitely cope if it meant I’d garner enough experience in the process, and gain the confidence I needed to set up on my own.

 

 

About Catherine Ferguson

Catherine Ferguson burst onto the writing scene at the age of nine, anonymously penning a weekly magazine for her five-year-old brother (mysteriously titled the 'Willy' comic) and fooling him completely by posting it through the letterbox every Thursday.

Catherine's continuing love of writing saw her study English at Dundee University and spend her twenties writing for various teenage magazines including Jackie and Blue Jeans and meeting pop stars. Then she got serious and worked as a sub-editor at the Dundee Courier and the Aberdeen Evening News before moving to Surrey and setting up an organic veg box delivery business.

Her first novel, HUMBUGS AND HEARTSTRINGS, is very loosely based on Dickens' A CHRISTMAS CAROL and was the launch title for Avon's brand new imprint, Maze.

FOUR WEDDINGS & A FIASCO, her latest sparkling romantic comedy, will be published in both paperback and e-book in June 2016.

Catherine lives with her family in Northumberland.


Leave a Reply