Escape to the Riviera by Jules Wake Blog Tour

Posted July 9, 2016 by thischickreads in review / 0 Comments

 

 

Happy weekend, everyone! Hope it’s nice and relaxing, wherever you are. Today is my stop on Jules Wake’s blog tour for her latest release, Escape to the Riviera, which was published on 30th of June. As you can see from the gorgeous banner, this is the last stop on the blog tour, but if you’re looking for more reviews or content from Jules, do go back to the blogs and check them out. As always, kindest thanks to lovely Helena and Louis from AVON UK for the chance to be part of this blog tour and for my gorgeous review copy.

 

 

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Escape to the Riviera by Jules Wake Blog TourEscape to the Riviera by Jules Wake
Published by Avon
Published on 30.6.2016
Genres: contemporary romance, women's fiction
Pages: 400
Format: paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on amazon.co.uk or Buy on amazon.com
Goodreads
four-stars

**Lose yourself in the south of France this summer in this fabulously feel-good beach read!**

Carrie Hayes has a job she enjoys and a perfectly nice boyfriend. She’s sorted. Isn’t she?

But Carrie’s life wasn’t always like this. As a young,
wild drama student, she married fellow actor, Richard
Maddox, after a whirlwind romance. Life back then was
full of possibilities, but when Hollywood beckoned
Richard, Carrie was left behind.

Now an A-list superstar, Richard’s life couldn’t be more
different to Carrie’s, so when their paths cross in glamorous
St Tropez, she can’t help but wonder what might have been.

But with lovely, sensible Alan in tow, Carrie knows
she needs to do the right thing. The only problem is,
Carrie and Richard never quite got round to getting a divorce…

Lose yourself this summer on the French Riviera,
the perfect read for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jane Costello.

 

 

As a huge fan of women’s fiction/contemporary romance, I can not believe this is the first book by Jules Wake I’ve read. Jules has published 4 books so far, the first ones with Choc Lit and this one with Avon UK as publisher. And though I’ve heard many of my friends praise her books and talk about them on social media, I simply couldn’t find the time to fit them in my ever growing TBR list. However, I’m so so grateful I finally got the chance to get familiar with her writing and read her latest, and I’m definitely gonna be on a watch out for more books by Jules.

‘Escape to the Riviera’, as the title may suggest is a truly great summer read. Just by looking at the gorgeous cover I felt mesmerized, wishing I’m that girl on the cover and enjoying that beautiful view with a glass of champagne. I also have a soft spot for any books from/about celebrities as I find their lives very fascinating. So when I read the blurb, I simply knew this book will be right up my street. I was not wrong.

Carrie lives with her sister Angela and her teenage niece, Jade. She’s leading a normal, quiet life, teaching drama and dating a teacher too, Alan. She and Alan have a steady relationship, and Alan’s proposal seems a natural upgrade to their status. However, there’s a ‘slight’ problem. Before meeting Alan, Carrie was not only dating but married to the super star actor, Richard Maddox. They separated and went their own ways, but they still haven’t got a proper divorce. Now that Alan has proposed, Carrie will have to find Richard and get the divorce papers soon, or else she’ll have to tell Alan about the situation and risk of losing him.

After Angela is offered a month of holidays in a house on French Riviera (which proves to be quite a posh mansion), together with Jade and Carrie they leave hoping to get some rest, explore the beautiful, fancy riviera, and see as many celebrities as possible. This is Carrie’s most important motive, as it seems Richard is filming his latest film there and she might find him with the crew. Good thing is good old (and rather boring) Alan will not be traveling with them, so Carrie will get her chance to talk to Richard, get her divorce and be back just in time to marry Alan without him being suspicious about anything. Plan sounds good, but you know what they say, human’s plans make God laugh. As the reader can predict, not everything goes according to Carrie’s plan, and she’ll be faced with her past and cornered to make some choices.

As I said, this is a great summer book. It’s not just the cover, but the light hearted topic and the Cinderella type of romance. A normal girl falls for a Hollywood star, leaves him, continues to live normally and sees him again. Sparks will fly, what else can you expect? I absolutely adored the light tone and feel of the book, it’s one of these read that are essential for chilling by the beach, cool drink in hand and loads of time at disposal. As I was reading this book on holidays, I have to say it’s the perfect holiday read.

Next thing I liked were the characters. There aren’t many and you get to really get to know them. I wasn’t crazy about all of them, but they make an interesting mix of personalities and are rather diverse. From the opening though, I knew I’m not gonna like Alan, Carrie’s safe harbor. He seemed rather dull and well… too safe. However, I was very very interested in Richard, who seemed quite arrogant at first, but one can’t blame him. He’s a Hollywood star. Jade is the normal teenager, freaking out over celebrities, doing selfies, slightly irritating people around here. She’s your every day teenager who wants to have fun, and in a weird way despite being irritable she got under my skin. Carrie was awesome and I really liked her, though for the love of god, what was she waiting all these years to get a divorce? That’s the only thing which bothered me in the book. How can you be separated from someone for a whole decade and never file for a divorce, especially if you were married to someone famous? Don’t they want a closure and a free pass to move on with their lives? Seems kind of unbelievable to me that a movie star would allow himself not to get the divorce papers and risk of being blackmailed or something. Also, seems unbelievable to me that Carrie would even think she can hide such thing as being married to a Hollywood star from people she knows and her new boyfriend. I don’t know about laws in UK or US, but in my part of the world, when you’re marrying someone, the first thing you’re asked by the State is if this is your first marriage or you were married before? Not to mention, those who were married need to supply papers as proof they are now legally divorced. As you see, I was rather confused by this, and that’s the thing which made the whole plot unbelievable at times. That’s the only reason why my mind and heart simply don’t allow me to click that 5 star rating.

However, if you’re looking for a fun, easy, light hearted romance to take by the pool, no need to look any further. This book provides enough fun and entertainment, and I definitely recommend it to all contemporary romance fans. Grab a copy, sit back and enjoy the beautiful sights of the French Riviera.

 

 

About Jules Wake

Jules' earliest known declaration that she planned to be a writer came at the age of ten. Unfortunately the urge to actually get her backside into gear and write a book didn't revisit her for quite some time after that.

After a twenty year career in the glamorous world of PR, working on luxury brands, she switched profession to give her more time and energy to write. By day she works in a junior school and by night writes romantic comedy and happy ever after stories which are the sort of books she's always enjoyed reading.

Her debut novel, Talk to Me, was published by Choc Lit in 2014, and her second, From Italy With Love, published by HarperImpulse was released earlier this year in May and reached the top of the Amazon Kindle Charts. Her third novel, From Paris With Love This Christmas, published by HarperImpulse came out last October. Her next book Escape to the Riviera will be published by Avon in June this year.
She's currently working on Will & Lisa's story, who appeared in From Paris With Love This Christmas.


Leave a Reply