Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice-Cream by Sue Watson #BlogTour #Review

Posted June 28, 2017 by thischickreads in review / 0 Comments

 

 

The day has finally arrived & I can share my review of this GORGEOUS book which certainly goes in my TOP 5 summer reads for this year. CURVES, KISSES AND CHOCOLATE ICE-CREAM, the second part in The Ice Cream Cafe series is finally here!! YAY! In a short time span of a month and a half Sue’s released TWO delicious reads which I strongly recommend. This is also Sue’s best book yet and I can not recommend it enough! Many thanks to my book fairy, Kim and Bookouture for the galley and the chance to be part of this blog tour.

 

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice-Cream by Sue Watson #BlogTour #ReviewCurves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice-Cream by Sue Watson
Series: The Ice-Cream Cafe #2
Also in this series: Ella's Ice-Cream Summer
Published by Bookouture
Published on 27.6.2017
Genres: chick lit, rom com
Pages: 308
Format: e-book
Source: NetGalley
Buy on amazon.co.uk or Buy on amazon.com
Goodreads
five-stars

Dani’s on a mission to get her life back on track by the end of the summer. Running, rowing, aerobics and more, but perhaps all she needs are sweet treats and a second chance?

Ten years ago, Dani fled Appledore with a broken-heart and a suitcase full of shattered dreams. Only now is she brave enough to put her past behind her and return for a summer selling homemade ice cream and getting fit by doing sit-ups by the sea.

But the new-look cafe is filled with old memories of Jude, her teenage sweetheart-turned-sour. She thinks of him every time she swirls warm sauce onto a ‘chocolate-bockaglory’ and even with the help of Chris, her gorgeous personal trainer, the urge to break her diet is everywhere she turns.

When Jude makes an appearance at the cafe on the eve of Dani’s birthday party, history threatens to repeat itself. Is Dani strong enough to say no? And is the love she’s been longing for much closer than she thinks?

A truly delicious, laugh-out-loud beach read that’s guaranteed to melt your heart. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson.

 

Summer’s just begun but I’ve already found a book that will go on my TOP 5 summer reads list! OMG Sue Watson has done it again! Once again she proves she creates the yummiest and funniest books. As someone who’s read all of her books and has been devotedly following her work for years, I can say (without a single doubt) this is definitely the best she’s written! I have so much love for this book I honestly don’t know even where to start with my review. I just feel like screaming from the rooftop, JUST READ THE BOOK! But I know that won’t please you and if you’re here, you’re obviously looking for at least few coherent sentences to tell you what the book is about. So…I will try, I’ll really do my best but know from start that my review won’t do it justice.

First off, this is THE PERFECT summer book! Not just because there’s tons of ice creams flavours mentioned (OK, that’s a big bonus), or even because it’s set in a beautiful, picturesque place by the sea, Appledore. In my opinion, what makes this book the perfect summer read is that strong feel good factor that oozes through the pages and that effortless humour which is undoubtedly Sue’s forte. It’s definitely one of the wittiest and most fun books I’ve ever read and though I already loved every single book Sue’s written, this one was sheer brilliance. It’s actually the book I wish I had written (Ha! IF only I had Sue’s talent).

‘Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice-Cream’ is the second installment in The Ice Cream series, and while I really enjoyed the first one and could feel this will be a terrific series, this book simply exceeded all my expectations. Once again we’re back in beautiful Appledore where we also meet some of the characters from the first book (Ella and her cousin Gina, who own Caprioni’s Ice-Cream Cafe and amazing Sue is there too). I loved reading about Ella and seeing how life turned out for her. However, the main character in this book is Dani, the assistant manager at Caprioni’s. Dani is simply brilliant! Think of Jemima J approaching her 40s. She’s the ultimate chick lit heroine, upbeat, single and with such zest for life (and ice creams). She’s a big foodie, always has been. Chips, chocolate, doughnuts, and of course ice cream is on her daily menu. She’s always been on the plus size, however there’s a big reason why she’s so much into comfort food. Now she’s approaching 40 and wants to finally solve this problem. 40 is the new 20 (or so they say) and is there a better way to reclaim the power in your life (and get your revenge for the broken heart) than by becoming an attractive and stylish adult?

Each of the chapters is named after a diet she’s tried in her life (and boy, she’s tried so many of them!) and starts with a Diary entry which will make you laugh out loud. As in all of Sue’s books, there’s a message for every woman out there, a message that will warm your hearts. As we follow Dani’s story, from one failed diet to the next, one gym injury to the next, through tears and laughter we get to realize (once again) that there’s more to life than having the ‘perfect’ body. And what’s a perfect body anyway? We all definite it differently, right?

Yet as light as this book is, it still speaks about many important subjects such as self love (or the lack of it) and body shaming (which we see so often in today’s society). Everywhere we go we’re bombarded by these skinny and unhealthy girls looking at us from the cover of those glossy magazines and our culture demands we follow their example. Many times those who don’t follow this trend are mocked and bullied in such horrific ways it scars their personality for life. Through Dani, Sue speaks on behalf of many women out there, women who just want to be accepted. This is why I think many women will be able to connect to Dani on so many levels and cheer for her from the start. She’s such a lovable character and definitely one of my fave book heroines.

This is also one of these rare books where I liked all the characters (except for Jude) and all of them were so interesting. I really wish I get to see more of Karla, she’s Dani’s BFF and one fantastic lady. She’s always there for Dani and has been her biggest support for the last two decades. I absolutely loved their bond, how strong it is and how much they accept each other’s differences.

If you were wondering if there’s any romance, oh yes there is. It’s Classic Sue Watson so the romance is gradually built and will leave you feeling all warm and fuzzy inside. But there will be some drama too, so I won’t say anything more to spoil it for you.

This is one hell of a gorgeous summer book and if you’re looking for something light and easy, yet a book that will make you feel so so soooo good, this is definitely the one. Sue really sets the bar high this time and I can’t wait to see what will be happening in Appledore next. While I was extremely sad to say bye to Dani, I have fingers crossed tightly she makes another appearance in some of Sue’s other books. Yup, she totally got under my skin! Witty, delicious yet absolutely calorie-free, this is Sue’s best book yet. Even if you haven’t read the first part in the series, you can easily jump into this one. I promise, you’re going to love it.

 

About Sue Watson

Sue Watson was a TV Producer with the BBC who combined motherhood and family life with a busy career. However, one day it dawned on Sue that Cosmo magazine may have been telling porkies about 'having it all,' and her life had become a slightly crazed juggling act.

So after much soul searching (and comfort eating) Sue abandoned her TV career, bought a pink laptop and wrote 'Fat Girls and Fairy Cakes.' It was then Sue realised she couldn't stop writing and produced 'Younger, Thinner, Blonder' 'Love, Lies and Lemon Cake' and 'Snow Angels, Secrets and Christmas Cake,' 'Summer Flings and Dancing Dreams,' and 'Bella's Christmas Bake Off.'

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire where she bakes (and eats) lots of cake. She spends much of her time making big decisions about whether to have Caramel Chew Chew or Peanut Butter ice cream (or both?) while watching 'The Biggest Loser USA,' and procrastinating over her latest novel.


Leave a Reply