Book Review: Party Girl (The Girls #1) by Rachel Hollis

Posted November 25, 2014 by thischickreads in review / 0 Comments

41wg9QYOElL

Landon Brinkley is making her dreams come true. After years of poring over glossy photos of celebrity parties in People and US Weekly, she’s landed her Holy Grail: an internship with the fabulous Selah Smith, event planner to the Hollywood elite. Moving from small town Texas to Los Angeles, Landon finds herself in a world in which spending a million dollars on an event – even for kids’ birthdays – is de rigueur. The thrill of working on A-list parties and celeb weddings is enough to get her through the 75-hour workweeks, the nightmare of a multi-day film festival, and abuse at the hands of a mercurial boss. But confronted with the seamy realities of the business, she is forced to make a choice: do whatever it takes to get ahead, or stay true to herself. A roman a clef in the vein of The Devil Wears Prada, PARTY GIRL draws on the author’s real life experience for an exclusive behind-the-scenes look at the celebrity-obsessed world of event planning. From the party habits of America’s favorite underage singer to the worst Bridezilla of all (the kind that graces the cover of your favorite magazine), PARTY GIRL reveals the ugly side of Hollywood’s prettiest parties.

 

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*

Landon Brinkley is a charming young woman from rural Texas who always had big dreams. Coming to LA, her dream is finally coming true. She has always wanted to organise events, to be the party girl. Saving money since high school, she comes to the big city to work for the best. But everything is not always what it seems like. Her boss is the worst person in the whole world, but she needs the job in order to learn things and get recommendations. Lucky for her, her collegue Miko is closest to friendly face in the firm of sharks. Maybe Brinkley is a country girl, maybe she likes wearing lashes, but she is going to make her dream come true and is not gonna walk over bodies to achieve that. Because as her father tought her, a person must have integrity.

Landon is an amazing character. It takes a lot of courage to move to a big city and not letting the city chew you up. It takes a lot of courage to be yourself where everything you see is fake. I loved her as a MC and enjoyed her journey through the world of advertising just to finally catch her dream. She has such a big heart and soul and she is a a person that everyone would like to be friend with. Her collegue Miko is also an amazing character. Cookies and chocolates are her solution for every problem in the world. Her chocolate mini bars can cure any pain and crisis. Max, the roommate, is a girl who sure can surprise. No one can tell that behind that so ordinary girl is a member of the richest families in LA. She is so down-to-earth.

Even if the story reminded me a lot of “Devil Wears Prada”, it is a great and enjoable read with so many lovely characters. I was hooked from the very first page. I enjoyed reading about the adventures of the fantastic girl trio. The story is great, characters are great, what’s more to tell? Great rom com I sure recommend.

 

My rating: 8/10

Marina1


Leave a Reply