Book Review: Maggie Does Meribel by Nicola Doherty

Posted March 9, 2015 by thischickreads in review / 0 Comments

91CPatKRzVL._SL1500_

The third instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk’s I Heart… novels.

Maggie can’t wait for her first ever skiing holiday. New Year’s Eve in the French Alps with her boyfriend Leo and two other couples: what could be more romantic? She’s picturing hot chocolate, romantic snowball fights and evenings snuggled together in front of the log fire. What she didn’t picture is near-death experiences on the mountains, falling out with Leo and sharing a chalet with the unbearable Jenny. When she meets Sylvain, a gorgeous ski instructor, the line between harmless flirting and full-on misbehaviour becomes … well, blurry. Will Maggie stay on the nursery slopes, or go seriously off-piste?

 

 

*Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

I’ve read this fun, little novella before Christmas and I really think it was the best time for reading it. It’s the third in a five-part series of novellas and if I have to compare it to the first two parts, the one I least enjoyed.

I’m a huge fan of Nicola Doherty and her novel ‘If I Could Turn Back Time’ is one of my all time favorite books. If you’re new to her works, I think it’s best you start with her proper length novels, as she’s truly talented and amazing author. Novellas are rarely my thing, I would always pick a more detailed and longer story over a short one. However, since it’s Ms Doherty we’re talking about, I really had to check this series out.

Girls on Tour is a fun series, and the novellas are so easy to read. I also like the fact each of the characters re-appears in another part and links all these stories. In this part we meet Maggie, who’s off to a skiing holiday with her boyfriend, Leo. But what she believes will be the most romantic holiday, turns into a kind of hell.

Some books you read just for the fun and laughs, you really don’t expect any twists or turns. This is obviously an entertaining read, perfect for curling up by the fire on a cold, winter day. But I really disliked Maggie, and I certainly didn’t agree with how she handled things. I would hate to spoil the fun for you, and bearing in mind it’s such a short read, I will leave you to find out what’s that part that didn’t click for me. For now, lets just say I wish Maggie was more mature and could chose a different way in solving her problems.

However, I absolutely loved the setting, despite not being the biggest fan of winter. I don’t even ski, but I really felt like I’m out there, with Maggie and the rest of the gang, enjoying the whiteness of the snow.

I most definitely look forward to the fourth part in this series, ‘Rachel Does Rome’ and hope I get to read it soon.

 

My rating: 6/10

Ananda1


Leave a Reply