Book Review: Humbugs and Heartstrings by Catherine Ferguson

Posted December 21, 2014 by thischickreads in review / 0 Comments

cover

A tale about love and friendships, complete with a sprinkling of Christmas magic. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Lucy Diamond.

Two ex-friends. One Christmas to remember …

Bobbie’s boss Carol is a real misery-guts, dedicated to making the lives of everyone around her unhappy in pursuit of every last penny. What makes it worse is that the two women have history: they were once best friends.

When handsome hotelier Charlie steps into the frame the two women go to battle as one sees a romantic future and the other a possible lifeboat for her business.

With wonderful warmth and humour – and the odd mince pie fight – the women are forced to confront their shared past, the turbulent present and, most importantly, the potential of the future.

Curl up this Christmas with this heartwarming and funny read. You’ll never look at a mince pie in the same way again…

 

*Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

Bobbie and Carol are best friends since forever. Bobbie comes from a poor family that has lost everything when her father died. Her mother struggles to take care for her and her little brother Tim who needs a very expensive surgery. In order to help her family, Bobbie sacrifices her own dreams and gets a job, in her best friend’s company. But Carol is far from the girl that she used to back in the old days. Carol now doesn’t have friends, doesn’t sacrifice anything. This Carol is a real bitch and treats people very badly. Everything changes when an old lady talks to Bobbie and predicts a man in her life. A handsome hotelier Charlie shows up in sight. But Carol also wants him.

Can Carol be the lovely person she used to be? Can Bobbie fight for herself and her own dreams? Will Tim finally be able to get the surgery he desperately needs? Ghosts from past, present and future show up in Bobbie’s life. Can an old friendship start all over again?

I’m sure you’ve already figured out who is who in this version of Dickens’ Christmas Carol. Bobbie is a great character, she’s someone everyone wishes for a best friend. She gives up her own dreams just to help her mum and her little brother Tim. They love her so much and they don’t want her to suffer because of them. They want her to be happy. Bobbie knows that Carol is changed, but deep in her heart she knows that her best friend is still there, so she stays with her even when Carol treats her very badly. Bobbie is always there to help people she loves, but can she help herself, to find her own happiness?

What a wonderful way to start a festive novel. Take an old and famous story (maybe the most famous one) and make it a modern fairytale. It’s an old story but it is also something new. It is a debut novel and the author did a very good job. Written in a humorous way, the author tells an emotional story about friendship, love and family, the most important things in life, not just for Christmas, but for every day of the year. Through Bobbie’s character, the author also talks about fears, fear of losing a dear person, fear of starting something new, fear of being happy. Humbugs and Heartstrings is adorable festive novel, perfect for these pre-Christmas days.

My rating: 7/10

Marina1


Leave a Reply