Blog Tour + Review: ‘The Silent Girls’ by Ann Troup

Posted February 18, 2016 by thischickreads in review / 1 Comment

 

 

Hey guys,

today I have the pleasure to kick off the blog tour for Ann Troup’s new novel, ‘The Silent Girls’, which is published today by Carina. It’s a fantastic thriller and one I definitely recommend, so after reading my review make sure you stop by amazon to download a copy. Trust me, you won’t be sorry! I’d like to thank lovely Jenny from Jenny In Neverland Blog Tours and Ann for the chance to take part in this epic blog tour and for the review copy. Enjoy reading, guys!

 

 

 

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour + Review: ‘The Silent Girls’ by Ann TroupThe Silent Girls Published by Carina
Published on 18.2.2016
Genres: thriller
Pages: 276
Format: e-book
Source: Publisher
Buy on amazon.co.uk or Buy on amazon.com
Goodreads
four-stars

What if everything you knew was a lie…
This house has a past that won’t stay hidden, and it is time for the dead to speak.

Returning to Number 17, Coronation Square, Edie is shocked to find the place she remembers from childhood reeks of mould and decay. After her aunt Dolly’s death Edie must clear out the home on a street known for five vicious murders many years ago, but under the dirt and grime of years of neglect lurk dangerous truths.

For in this dark house there is misery, sin and dark secrets that can no longer stay hidden. The truth must come out.

Finding herself dragged back into the horrific murders of the past, Edie must find out what really happened all those years ago. But as Edie uncovers the history of the family she had all but forgotten, she begins to wonder if sometimes it isn’t best to leave them buried.

From the bestselling author of The Lost Child don’t miss The Silent Girls

An unforgettable and addictive story, perfect for fans of Lesley Thomson, Diane Chamberlain and Tracy Buchanan.

 

 

 

‘The Silent Girls’ is the second book by Ann Troup and one I’ve been very much looking forward to reading. Her debut, ‘The Lost Child’ was published in 2015 and many of my friends loved it. I do have a copy waiting on my kindle for some time now, however after reading her second book I’ve decided to bump it up my huge TBR pile and read it as soon as possible.

‘The Silent Girls’ opens up with a rather chilly event when a man is executed because he murdered five young girls. Fast forward 30+ years and we meet Edie, who’s back in Winfield, the same town these murders happened, back to Number 17, Coronation Square and the old house her aunt used to live. Families are a funny thing sometimes… sometimes things just fall apart and of course there are many reasons, but some are so dysfunctional, one can not even pinpoint what was the moment to end certain communication. Edie hasn’t heard from her aunt Dolly ever since she left the house, seems she didn’t even bother to keep in touch, and now 30+ years she’s back in Dolly’s house to clean it up and put it on sale after her aunt’s death. The sad thing is no one was there for her aunt when she was dying, and Edie does feel regret about this. Seems the neighbors knew her aunt much better than her own family, seems she had loads of difficulties (money being just one of the problems), but she never told Edie or her sister, Rose about this. I guess it’s just something most estranged family members do, they just don’t go back to fix some things. I don’t blame them, sometimes it’s too painful. But I digress… Edie has a funeral to attend and make the house as much representable for sale as she can, which is not an easy task. She gets to know Dolly’s neighbors better and even makes a new friend, Sophie Hedley, as strange looking girl who seemed to crash Dolly’s place whenever she needed it. Left without much of a family, seems like both Edie and Sophie are a lot more similar than what appears on the surface.
Slowly but surely after getting to know a bit of Edie, Ms Troup starts making the story more and more interesting. There’s a strong connection between Edie’s past and present with the murders who happened long time ago but were never forgotten by the people from Winfield. Edie and Sophie are about to discover some things, and it won’t be pretty. Secrets will be revealed, the ghosts of the past will be let out… how will Edie handle the new situation?

Honestly, despite having heard nothing but praise about Ms Troup’s writing, I didn’t expect it to be this good. Not having read her debut, I didn’t know what to expect. But let me tell you, every praise you hear about her writing, well it’s completely earned! She knows how to create a dark atmosphere and pull you slowly in her fictional world, describing everything to the slightest detail, making you feel like you’re part of the scene. The descriptions of the old house were so vivid, I could almost smell the decay and see it tumbling down in front of my eyes. Another plus is the amazing relationship among the characters, they are all so different yet somehow Ms Troup makes them work together, each adding to events. There weren’t that many characters, but I think some new were added in the second half of the book and that might have slowed things down a bit for me.

The only thing which bothered me was the ending. I wasn’t pleased with the way the book ended, it somehow left many questions unanswered and that left me confused. But other than that, it was a fantastic, gripping thriller I absolutely enjoyed. The writing is fantastic and I’m definitely looking forward (now more than ever) to read Ms Troup’s debut, and I’m gooing to be on a watch out for her next.


One response to “Blog Tour + Review: ‘The Silent Girls’ by Ann Troup

Leave a Reply