Blog Tour: ‘Closing In’ by Sue Fortin Review + UK/INT Giveaway

Posted May 16, 2014 by thischickreads in review / 10 Comments

Today we have the pleasure to be part of another Blog Tour organized by lovely Sharon from Fiction Addiction Tours, this time for Sue Fortin’s ‘Closing In’. Sue is the author of 2 novels, and her debut ‘United States of Love’ is high up on our TBR list (especially after reading ‘Closing In’). Thanks to Sue we’re also offering you a fab giveaway (details found at the end of post). Scroll bellow to read our review and make sure you add ‘Closing In’ to your TBR pile no matter the size of it. It’s a fantastic read, I can guarantee you that. Then come back and comment, we’d love to hear your thoughts on it.

 

Image

 

 

Blurb:

Fight, Flight, Freeze or Fawn?

 

Helen has had to leave everything she’s ever known behind; her home, her family, even her own name.

Now, returning to the UK as Ellen Newman, she moves to a small coastal village, working as a nanny for Donovan, a criminal psychologist. Attractive, caring and protective, this single father and his sweet daughter are a world away from Ellen’s past. She thinks she’s escaped. She thinks she’s safe.

But something is wrong. Strange incidents begin to plague her new family, and their house of calm is about to become one of suspicion and fear. Who can be trusted? Who is the target? Who is closing in?

For fans of Emily Barr & Rosamund Lupton.

 

About the Author

 

Lover of cake, Dragonflies and France. Hater of calories, maths and snakes. Sue was born in Hertfordshire but had a nomadic childhood, moving often with her family, before eventually settling in West Sussex.

Sue is married with four children, all of whom patiently give her time to write but, when not behind the keyboard, she likes to spend her time with them, enjoying both the coast and the South Downs, between which they are nestled.

To find out more about Sue visit her blogs www.suefortin.wordpress.com  and www.theromaniacs.co.uk

Twitter : suefortin1.

Facebook : Sue Fortin Writer’s Page

 Buy ‘Closing In’ on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

 

Our review:

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*

‘Closing In’ is Sue Fortin’s second novel, and though I haven’t read her debut yet (I do however have it on kindle so expect to rectify this pretty soon) I know this one is much different to her previous one. I’ve read many reviews of ‘Unites States of Love’, Sue’s debut, as well as chatted to people who have read it, and I must admit I didn’t expect this type of read from her. While ‘United States of Love’ is a chick lit/contemporary romance, seems with ‘Closing In’ Sue decided to explore the darker side, creating one hell of a gripping psychological thriller.

It’s got loads of elements in it, suspense, romance, mystery, drama..it’s one great combination of all the things I personally enjoy very much in a book. The story is centered around Helen, who leaves home and decides on changing her identity. For a while, she seems to be alright and finally living the life she always dreamed of. She has a job she enjoys, and maybe there are chances even for starting a new romance. However, things get pretty strange soon… could it be her past is still haunting her?

This was truly an enjoyable and such an easy read. I didn’t even want to go to bed so I could see how things will turn out for Helen at the end. Sue’s narration and the skills to create such a gripping read have really impressed me. I was completely hooked from the first page, wondering why Helen is doing such a drastic change. I could feel her reasons for that, but I can’t say I could totally predict everything that was happening in this book. It’s definitely one of those book that will keep you guessing and one which you won’t be able to put down. 

Needless to say, I will definitely be on a watch out for Sue’s next book (I know authors sometimes feel the pressure when a reader approaches them with this statement, but honestly I can’t help it). I will also definitely check out United States of Love, and I really can’t wait to see if Sue will decide to go back to chick lit or if she’ll continue writing psychological/drama/suspense. As much as I love chick lit I must say I wouldn’t be complaining if she decides to stick with the darker books. It’s obvious she feels very comfortable in this genre and she’s mighty good in creating an intriguing, complex and fast paced story that will keep you invested throughout.

My rating: 4/5

ananda-signature4

GIVEAWAY:

The giveaway on tour is 1 x ecopy of Closing In (INT), 1 x Amazon GC £5/$10 (INT) plus a handcrafted tote bag (UK only). Enter through rafflecopter.

Image
a Rafflecopter giveaway


10 responses to “Blog Tour: ‘Closing In’ by Sue Fortin Review + UK/INT Giveaway

  1. Woohoooo! I so have this on my Kindle, I can’t wait to read. Great review, Ananda, you make me even more excited about Sue’s latest realise. What can I say? I’m CLOSING IN on my TBR!! X 🙂

  2. Sheerie Franks

    Love your blog pages because when you see a book you really like, it’s so great when you links on to purchase or pre-order the book…..such a helpful thing you do.
    Thank you for the chance if the give-away. Xxxx

Leave a Reply