Be My Killer by Richard Parker #BlogTour #Review

Posted May 30, 2017 by thischickreads in review / 0 Comments

 

 

Hi dear readers, today I’m part of another blog tour and bring you a review of Richard Parker’s recently published thriller, Be My Killer. The title promises a scary, fast read, right? Well, I have just two things to tell you. Prepare for the ride cause your stomach will be in knots! Also, be careful how you use social media and hashtags 🙂 Got you intrigued? I’m glad if I have. Many thanks to Kim and the Team Bookouture for the review copy and the chance to be part of the blog tour. As for you, my dear readers, do come back with your thoughts on Be My Killer once you read it. Oh and there’s loads of violence in the book, just consider yourselves warned. Cheerio, lovelies!

 

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Be My Killer by Richard Parker #BlogTour #ReviewBe My Killer by Richard Parker
Published by Bookouture
Published on 26.5.2017
Genres: thriller, crime
Pages: 350
Format: e-book
Source: NetGalley
Buy on amazon.co.uk or Buy on amazon.com
Goodreads
three-half-stars

You set the trap. Now you can’t escape.

When an online prank goes viral and triggers a spate of gruesome murders, documentary maker Hazel Salter watches in horror. But then Hazel’s childhood friend, Meredith Hickman, is the next victim and Hazel knows she has to find out what happened to her.

Is it one killer or more? Random acts of violence, or part of a bigger, twisted plan?

The police have no leads, but Hazel has a theory – one she’ll stop at nothing to prove – and she also has a film crew. She’ll make a documentary, catch the killer, and give Meredith justice.

Her stage is the abandoned amusement park where Meredith was found.

Her cast are the family and friends the killer left behind.

And her crew? They keep disappearing, one by one…

A shocking, ‘just-one-more-page’ thriller with the most twisted killer you’ll ever meet. This book will hook you from the first page and keep you guessing long into the night. PERFECT for fans of James Patterson, Mo Hayder, and Chris Carter.

 

Well, this sure was a really intense book! I’m still a tiny bit confused about what I read and even surprised I liked certain parts even though there was so much violence. When I first read the blurb, I wanted to immediately read the book. As someone who’s kind of addicted to social media, especially twitter I was immediately intrigued. I even found the premise a bit similar to Angela Clarke’s ‘Follow me’ which I really enjoyed, so I was pretty certain this book will be up my street. While it certainly had my interest till the last page, I’m still not sure just how much I enjoyed it.

Four people in four different cities have been murdered after twitting the hashtag #BeMyKiller to the same @BeMyKiller account. What started of as fun and mocking of a weird account soon turns into a horror. The victims would tweet @BeMyKiller and would be killed off exactly the same way ‘they chose to be murdered’. One victim tweeted ‘Hit me up @BeMyKiller’ and she ends up run down. The police have no idea what’s going on or if there are more than one killers. Are these random murders or somehow connected? Hazel is a documentary maker and one of the victims is her childhood friend, Meredith. When she finds out her friend is killed in such horrendous way she decides to make a documentary on these murders and gathers the crew and family of the other victims in the very park her friend was killed as a filming location. But what they didn’t predict is that one by one the crew members will be killed off and everything will soon turn into Hazel’s biggest nightmare.

As you see, the story is really intense. The short chapters make for one very pacey thriller which sometimes borders the suspense/horror genre. While I adore psychological thrillers, I have to say I’m not too crazy on books with so many characters and so much action. What really intrigued me from the beginning to the very end is the whole ‘social media killings’ thing. However, I wish I got to feel more the characters (and wish there were less character as I was a bit confused trying to remember them all) and build a certain picture/profile of the Killer.

While Be My Killer is definitely a fast paced book and keeps you glued to its pages, I really wish I got to connect to at least one character. One can see the author is definitely good at describing the killings, at times there was even too much violence for my taste, however my complaint would be that I missed connecting with the characters. I really missed that ‘psychological’ element which makes both the ‘good guys’ and the ‘bad guys’ more interesting and memorable.

I’ve heard that Be My Killer is the first in a series and I’m sure I’ll be checking out the next installment. It’s evident Mr Parker knows how to create a dark and gripping story that will have your stomach in knots. Exciting and scary at the same time, e? 🙂

 

About Richard Parker

Parker is an ex TV script writer, script editor and producer who now writes dark, stand alone thrillers. His first novel, Stop Me, was nominated for a Dagger Award. The movie rights to his second, Scare Me, have been bought by Hollywood studio Relativity Media with screenplay completed by Wentworth ‘PRISON BREAK’ Miller and his third, Stalk Me, rode high in the US and UK Amazon charts.


Leave a Reply